### Chair Wm. Weston J. Newton

First Vice-Chair: Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr.

Kambrell H. Garvin Rosalyn D. Henderson-Myers Jeffrey E. "Jeff" Johnson John R. McCravy, III Adam M. Morgan Melissa Lackey Oremus Marvin R. Pendarvis Tommy M. Stringer Chris Wooten

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

# Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

Gil Gatch
William M. "Bill" Hixon
Kimberly O. Johnson
Josiah Magnuson
Timothy A. "Tim" McGinnis
Travis A. Moore
Russell L. Ott
Michael F. Rivers, Sr.
John Taliaferro (Jay) West, IV

Charles L. Appleby, IV Legal Counsel

Lewis Carter Research Analyst/Auditor

Riley E. McCullough Research Analyst

# Economic Development, Transportation, and Natural Resources Subcommittee

Thursday, March 11, 2021 1 hour after adjournment Blatt Room 110

#### Archived Video Available

I. Pursuant to House Legislative Oversight Committee Rule 6.8, South Carolina ETV was allowed access for streaming the meeting. You may access an archived video of this meeting by visiting the South Carolina General Assembly's website (http://www.scstatehouse.gov) and clicking on Committee Postings and Reports, then under House Standing Committees click on Legislative Oversight. Then, click on Video Archives for a listing of archived videos for the Committee.

#### Attendance

I. The Economic Development, Transportation, and Natural Resources Subcommittee meeting was called to order by Chairman William M. (Bill) Hixon, on Thursday, March 11, 2021, in Room 110 of the Blatt Building. The following members of the Subcommittee were present for either all or a portion of the meeting: Chairman Hixon, Representative Adam M. Morgan; Representative Russell L. Ott; and Representative Marvin R. Pendarvis.

#### Minutes

- I. House Rule 4.5 requires standing committees to prepare and make available to the public the minutes of committee meetings, but the minutes do not have to be verbatim accounts of meetings. It is the practice of the Legislative Oversight Committee to provide minutes for its subcommittee meetings.
- II. Representative Ott makes a motion to approve the meeting minutes from the prior Subcommittee meeting.

Rep. Ott' motion to approve the minutes from the March 4, 2021 meeting:	Yea	Nay	Not Voting
Rep. Hixon	✓		
Rep. Morgan	✓		
Rep. Ott	✓		
Rep. Pendarvis	✓		

## Discussion of the S.C. Department of Commerce

- I. Chair Hixon swears in Ms. Jennifer N. Fletcher, Deputy Secretary for the Department of Commerce. Also, he reminds Mr. Robert M. (Bobby) Hitt III, Secretary of Commerce and Mr. Christopher Huffman, Chief Financial Officer of the Department of Commerce that they remain under oath.
- II. Secretary Hitt provides brief comments related to "Setting the Table" for business by mitigating risk. Secretary Hitt makes remarks about a team approach and applied research grant programs.
  - Deputy Secretary Fletcher provides comments on other grants programs; rural development; and partnerships.
- III. Subcommittee members ask questions relating to the following:
  - a. Partnerships:
    - i. SC Economic Developers Association
    - ii. Army Corp of Engineers
    - iii. Regional community development organizations
  - b. Economic development efforts: coordination and prioritization
  - c. Fraunhofer (applied research organization) project: company partners, and digital onboarding tools
  - d. Locate SC Grants:
    - i. distribution strategy
    - ii. eligibility
    - iii. source of funding
    - iv. performance measures

- v. site enhancement grants
- vi. grant administration
- vii. carryforward
- viii. definition of publicly owned asset
- ix. location and identification of potential sites
- x. Palmetto sites
- xi. publicizing these grant opportunities
- xii. payment process for grantees
- xiii. geographical distribution of these grants
- xiv. agency's discretion for matching funds requirements for grant applicants
- e. Community Development Block Grants
  - i. administration concerns;
  - ii. communication with applicants about other grant options
- f. Appalachian Regional Commission
- g. Rural development

Secretary Hitt, Deputy Secretary Fletcher, and Mr. Huffman respond to those questions.

### Conclusion

I. There being no further business, the meeting is adjourned.